About RCCA

Redditch County Conservative Association (RCCA) is part of the Conservative & Unionist Party (UK). We are authorised and governed as a constituency association under the Conservative Party’s Constitution, and our boundaries as an organisation are mapped to the Parliamentary boundaries of Redditch County Constituency. This means our area covers the town of Redditch along with the villages of Astwood Bank, Feckenham, Cookhill, The Lenches, Inkberrow, and Hanbury.

Our Governance Structure

As a local Association we are governed by our Executive Council, which appoints a committee of Officers to run the Association on a daily basis. A number of other committees and sub-committees exist to support the Association’s work, such as a committee to approve candidates for local government elections.

We are legally separate from the Redditch Borough Council Conservative Group led by Matt Dormer, the Wychavon District Council Conservative Group led by Bradley Thomas and the Worcestershire County Council Conservative Group led by Simon Geraghty. Our job as an Association is to campaign to get our members elected by the local population so they can join these groups as local Councillors.

The sitting Member of Parliament for Redditch is Rachel Maclean MP who was chosen by members of this Association to stand as our champion in the 2017 and 2019 General Elections. Rachel, as a Member of Parliament, was then duly elected by the citizens of Redditch and now must represent everyone in her constituency, not just those who voted for her as Conservative supporters. Once elected to Parliament the relationship between Association and MP is very important and one that Rachel takes very seriously as an active and contributing member of our team.

Our Association depends on our branches, each of which send delegates to our Executive Council. We have five branches in our area: Redditch North, Redditch South, Arrow Valley East, Arrow Valley West, and Inkberrow.

Our work as an Association depends on volunteer members and the generosity of local donors. We do not receive any public funding for our work.

Our Team

For the 2021-2022 year the local Association team of officers is:

  • John Eaton, Chair
  • Peter Fleming, Deputy Chair Political
  • Abia Akbar, Deputy Chair Membership

Officers service for a one year term, elected at a General Meeting of members.